Nugget Shooter Forums
Nugget Shooter

Chickens....

Here is something many of you may not yet know... I will now admit it openly. I am also a chicken farmer, yes I said it, chicken farmer. Have been around them most of my life so when Mikayla said "Daddy can we get some laying hens?" I said no... "Daddy please" (pouty look and all) I said yes, but only 10.

We now average around 50 or 60 layers at any given time and Mikayla pays for their food as well as makes a profit from egg sales....

The yard boss, Hubert the roo...

2011-12-16_16-14-55_818.jpg

Grand kids getting mugged for scratch grain

2011-11-02_17-10-06_351.jpg

Mikayla with a psycho roo name of Blue Max a couple years back, he was better with dumplings than he was in the yard

2011-07-31_18-12-20_775.jpg

Finished products.... With what is called a "fart egg" usually no yoke or yoke and no white.

2011-06-20_19-30-39_593.jpg

Chickens are cool for sure.

They Keep the Goat Heads away.

Ticks and other bugs gone.

Mine would even eat mice.

Get her some Araucana Chickens .

They lay Pink, Blue and Other Odd colored eggs.

We could sell a dozen at the flea market for $5.00...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Araucana

We have about 20 in the current flock Homefire and they do lay some colorful eggs! The rooster Mikayla is holding is a Blue Araucana

When folks first see the eggs they think you dyed them. LOL

Hi Bill, We have 10 hens right now some of them are Araucana also. In this cold weather they have not laid eggs for 3 weeks. First time in a year we have to buy some eggs. I told them if they don't start laying we will start frying.

Bob

• Like 1