Nugget Shooter Forums

Anyone have luck with Coyote Dry Lake?

Hi guys and gals,

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas, and is looking forward to a great new year.

I am planning a trip down to SoCal in perhaps a week or two, my main point of interest being Coyote Dry Lake (looked it up from this site: http://www.lpi.usra.edu/meteor/index.php). I am choosing this location, because it seems to have a lot of finds, at least according to the site I looked it up on. Has anyone searched here before? Any luck? Tips? Thank you in advance. I am just beginning, but am learning quite a lot. I noticed that a lot of the finds listed are H5, so I will bring along a big magnet stick. (I don't have a metal detector...is it worth renting one?)

Thanks again,

Simon

Edited by noncents

Aloha Simon,

Here is a tip that should get you a specimen or two: Hunt with the sun to your backand kee scanning ahead of you looking for any anomoly. I used to constantly talk to myself asking "What is wrong with this picture?" . Hopefully this will help. Good luck out there.

aloha,

Stan aa Kaimi

Thank you for the suggestion. I plan on looking for darker rocks that have a metallic appearance to them. I did an image search for H5 chondrite on google images, so I think I might base it off that.

I've got about 40 hours of field time in at Coyote, never found anything, but it's a big playa. Stay on BLM designated routes, and watch the private property on the north shore that you don't end up driving/hiking through someone's yard.

Once again, thank you to everyone that responded. Are there any good areas within an hours drive of Barstow? That is where I will be most likely staying. Thanks again.

Once again, thank you to everyone that responded. Are there any good areas within an hours drive of Barstow? That is where I will be most likely staying. Thanks again.

Yes, just about anywhere within an hour of Barstow is good meteorite hunting. : )

Edited by Mikestang