Nugget Shooter Forums

$700,000 Gold Missing

Goldfinger

Found this in the local paper.

http://www.stltoday.com/news/local/crime-and-courts/gold-dust-worth-misplaced-or-stolen/article_0a2f1326-9d6d-531c-8ad1-0b8bdcde839b.html

Why would they think the purer the gold, the lighter it would weigh?

Regardless, I bet someone is going to have a really nice Christmas. That is, if they don't get caught.

Steve

There are several ignorant statements in that article.

Gold being lighter if more pure - less volume, sure. Lighter, not significantly (based on volume again)

A bucket full... one helluva strong bucket and person to carry it.

I now know one place to not sell gold - St Louis. Instead, I'd like to buy it there... heck, a bucket full is only 30-70 pounds :)

Hey fellers, ya know, I've been a painter fer more than 20 yrs. And I can tell ya, a 5 gal. bucket of, say, exterior-solid color-oil base stain, that weighs 80 lbs. A bucket of indusrial zinc-oxide primer, that weighs a 100 lbs., and 80 lbs. of gold powder wouldn't take-up all the space in a 5 gal. paint bucket. So if I saw a neighbor struggle to pull a 5 gal. paint bucket from the trunk of his car, I wouldn't think twice, then it would just be a matter of meltin it in a 110v.2 kilo, bench-top melting furnace. You could even add impurities, you know, little tiny percentages of Cu, Ag, and maybe some Fe3 O4. If a feller did swipe it, and he just took his time to think 'bout it, and just sold 2-3, 2 oz. bars every 3 of 4 months to refiners that regularly bought from small-time miners, I think it'd be easy to git away with. yep!