Nugget Shooter Forums

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

trainermick

visiting Vegas and looking for someone.......

I will be in Vegas from Jan. 1'st - 5'th and am looking for someone to go meteorite detecting with. I have permission to walk a claim in Gold Basin but here is the issue. I have been detecting for close to 30 years and am very confdent with my Fisher f75, however, being from Canada, I have not had the experience of detecting in the desert. So, I will be totally out of my element..

I am hoping to find someone willing to pick me up in Vegas and take me out for a day. I will cover all expenses ie gas, meals, drinks, etc and if I happen to find a piece of gold, you can have that too. Only want to say that I found a Gold Basin meteorite and check it off my list.

Anyone out there willing to help out a friend from the north ?

thanks

Fred McPherson

Hey Fred, I live in Michigan but had an opportunity to spend about a week at gold basin last year, and I also have an F-75 and found a couple gold basin L-4's but only with the accessory 5in. DD coil, the standard 11in. coil wont sound off on them even with yer sensitivity in high gain. So if you don't have one of the smaller accessory coils available fer that machine, you'll need to get one. The 11in. works fine on irons and H class chondrites but not the L class or low iron chondrites, so get a 5in. round DD, or the 6.5in. eliptical should work as well, and you will need to set yer sensitivity just above low gain. I had mine set at 32, oh and ground balance often, + and - hot rocks are everywhere and the soil is full of Fe3O4, but ah, good luck man, and have fun, oh, and if he's got the time to spare, git with Frank C. he's a great guy and knows gold basin perdy good......RH

Thanks for the tips and yes I have already been corresponding with Frank. My problem is that I a trying to avoid renting a car while down there.

Hi Fred,