Nugget Shooter Forums

Dry Washing Questions

JordanD

Ok so im new to the world of drywashing and with most new things, lots of questions come up. So im sure many of you have answers ha. I am planning on building a dry washer as i am out here in utah and its super dry. the desert areas hold riches, but i need a way to get to it. now a few of my questions is this, how fine of gold can the washer recover? is it flour? or coarse grains? also i have seen two types of washers. One with a blower and another with a bellows. are there advantages one over another? is one better than the other? also the cloth material used, what would be best for that? i have a general idea for a prototype, but i want to be sure i get the build the best. Now on top of the blower/bellows, would it be a good idea to put a rocker/vibrator on the riffle tray/hopper to help with movement? or will that hinder things? Anyone who knows this even generally, help is needed. Thanks again!

Jordan

My dry washer recovers mind blowingly small gold. I like the blower type seems like a consistent speed of air would keep the feed even. Compared to short forceful explosions of air from a bellows. If I were you don't try to make a better dry washer. Buy a proven brand just keep it simple. Then find someone to give you lessons. Make sure this person has found a pound of gold dry washing. There are so many things that can affect recovery. Lots of little tricks to lurn.

Jordan,

There are lots and lots of videos and articles online that can help you get started and answer many of your questions. I attached a link showing operation of a dry washer I built (with the help of somebody who actually knew what they were doing) to give you a better idea on that type. If you go to near the end there is focus on how the dirt moves over the riffles.

Paul