Nugget Shooter Forums

Howdy Folks... New to the forum

LostDutchman

Howdy folks, I'm new to this forum. I've been prospecting Arizona for over 30 years now. I started out dredging the Lynx back when you could do that sort of thing. Once, many years ago, I dredged a 28 foot deep hole/cave, with a 3 inch dredge, in a rotten limestone crevasse out in California. But mostly, I've been puddle dredging here in Arizona.

About 20 years ago, I purchased a Minelab FT16000. I got frustrated real fast and went back to sniping. Shortly after that I quit prospecting all together. About 2 years ago, after 1 heart attack and a bout with cancer, I was cleaning out my storage unit and came across my old prospecting equipment. That darn feeling came flooding back. I purchased some camping equipment and took my wife, 2 dogs, the 3 inch dredge and drove our Hyundai Elantra down to Stanton for some prospecting. It took a day to hump the dredge 1/4 mile up the creek to the claim. Did I mention my wife is blind? And I am getting older... Anyway I had 3 glorious days of puddle dredging until I had to take the last day for packing everything out... We did manage to get a few small nuggets (the biggest was 38 grains).

After that I dug out the old Minelab. We went down to Stanton a few more times to give it a try. Boy, I never a more frustrating time using that infernal machine. Never could get it to stop squawking or screaming at everything and anything. When I did manage to shut it up... it wouldn't squawk at anything! Feast or famine. I dug everything. More often than not, there was nothing there... not even iron! I knew I had it set wrong. Tried a different setting, This went on day after day.

Sooo, I came across this site the other day. I figured that maybe there would be someone on this forum who would like to go out detecting... and maybe, just maybe, show an old f@rt how to use ths dinosaur of a machine. Thus my post....