Nugget Shooter Forums

garrett 2500

I am new to detectors, I was wondering if anyone can give me any advise on how to set this up for niggets.. I put it at all metal no discrimination sencativity between 7 to 9 threshold at 0.. any hints ? is this a good setting? I know I should of went with a different one but this is our first.. Yes and a woman is running it.. tee hee..

Your settings sound about right except for the threshold.....turn it until you get just a very small hum.....

get a piece of lead (different sizes at a tire shop) and test those settings.....as you test make small

adjustments to see if you can improve the depth.....be sure to ground balance if you hear a different

sound when you get the coil close to the ground.....play with the machine and have fun....

Read your owners manual over and over....

Thanks for the information, The manual is the problem I got this one at the pawn shop no instructions. I did down load the manual. but it doesnt say much..but will try your advice thanks again..

Go to their website and look harder as they have videos and such to assist ya. Join a local yokel club and these and many other questions will be answered and who,what and how shown AND you'll meet some righteously gold crazed folks too-John

Alan aka Bearkat4160 of the findmall message board wrote this on the subject of the garrett 2500 finding gold nuggets.

Maybe this will help you get started.

Well I have found gold nuggets with my 2500 in California. Of course all metal mode should be used. This is my usual set up if I use the 9.5 stock coil. Which I recommend if the ground can handle it. I use that coil because it is more sensitive than a DD coil like the 10x5 or the new DD 11x8.5".