Nugget Shooter Forums

10.5 pound meteorite ?

Hello,

First off let me start by saying that I am new to this whole meteorite thing. After my story you will know why I am here.  A number of years ago while we were on vacation we got a call that there was a lightining storm back home and that my parents front yard had caught on fire. An electrical line had broken and either sparks or lightning directly had apparently ignited the lawn. They said that the fire was easily put out and there was no damage to the house and no need to rush home so we didnt. Upon returning home however there was a large black circle in the lawn from where there had been fire and what looked like a bunch of black glass. In the middle we dug up a 10.5 pound rock with smooth edges and glass like qualities. The local firemen etc.. said that lightning must have fused the sand together to make the rock.  (There is a local news article that we saved and pictures of the lawn that I will try to dig up).  My father just thought it was cool so he saved it as a novelty item. Just last week while visiting him I noticed a black rock next to his garage outside and asked if that was the rock from the lightning storm. He said it was so I told him we should look up what "lightning rocks" are worth and if we could sell it.