Nugget Shooter Forums

I have a question, i am new to minelabs, i just purchased a used gp extreme, for nugget and lode searching. I have tried and practised with it a few times now, and it seems to work great, once tuned and balanced. BUT, I have couple pieces of gold, and it will not make a sound on them, ive tried almost every setting possible, but Nuthin!!!, the pieces are 1 small nugget at 0.6 Gram, and some natural gold in quartz, total W 6.5G, approx 2-3 grams of Gold in it. My garrett gti2500 screams on them, even the small Nug. BUT the minelab, not a sound, even with both pieces together. I understand these are Big Deep Nugget detectors, so am i screwed out of the small stuff??? I have the orig. 11 inch DD coil, and a 14 inch Coiltek dd, neither of them pick it up, but will scream on an old can at 4-5 feet!!! I keep hearing of people finding small sub gram nuggets!!! what am i doing wrong?!?!?! :head::grr01:

ANY COMMENTS OR SUGGESTIONS?????

Much Appreciated!!!

Can you post pictures of the gold pieces, there are some rare formations of gold that these detectors can have problems with detecting, but not many, it maybe that you just happen to have a couple of those types.

You definately came to the right place for that question as this Minelab crew is far more astute to them machines than any I've found anywhere else....bar none-John

the pieces that you have posted, especially the two bigger ones

should probably be sounding off.

If you can list the settings you are using

it would help those folks who are familiar with your machine.