Nugget Shooter Forums

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Kev2008

Howdy,Folks !!!

My name is Kevin and i am new to all this,never looked for gold or anything like that but then i started watching the Gold Shows on Discovery Channel,before you knew it,i bought a beginners Metaldetector and a gold pan .

Now,i don"t know where to look for anything of that kind around where i live(went on the weekend to a local river and started panning with no success).

I was wondering,if someone could help show me the ropes of location research and give me helpful tips ???

By the way,i live in Farmington,New Mexico

any reply will be greatlt appreciated !!!!!

google earth is your friend

http://www.google.com/earth/index.html

you'll need to find national parks/forests (public land). get a claim map of your area. and check the laws. if you know someone with land ask them for permission to prospect.

stay off private property, you might get shot.

open desert, far from any people. what kind of detector did you get. a beginer one probly wont realy work like you need.

best MD for gold nuggets: http://www.amazon.co...32812691&sr=8-2 this thing can pick out dust.

thanks for the tips !!! In this time of economic hardship,i can't afford a metal detector like that !!! I have purchased a Bounty Hunter 2200 Elite for starters !!!

thats a decent detector, should get you going.

Howdy Kev and a hearty welcome to Nugget Shooter. Here is some NM info for you...

Placer Gold in New Mexico

by Edgar B. Heylmun, PhD

New Mexico is not especially known for placer gold, although significant quantities have been recovered from certain districts. There are good opportunities for finding additional gold in favorable areas in the state.