Nugget Shooter Forums

There should be gold here?

DoradoJones

Hello all. I'm new to this world and holy chips there's a lot to learn. I'm in Central California. There's a seasonal riverbed/wide creek on my property. There's an exposed quartz vein running up the mountain, which in turn feeds down to the bed in a series of small waterfalls. Quartz is all over. I literally kick huge chunks with every step. And still, no (real) gold as of yet. Is my sluice at the right angle? Probably not. Is my home made, primitive stamp mill doing as good a job as can be done? Absolutely not. Do I already swear at my pan? Better believe it. Since I can't ask 100 questions, I'll ask the one that so many before me have:

Where is the best place to concentrate on (digging extremely deep, quartz picking/crushing, panning the bed) to find evidence of anything here? I know it is general and generic question and gold is where you find it, but I guess I'm wondering, with these options, what you all would do. I can't keep digging little crumby holes all over the place. I feel I should hit one place hard. Also, I may have found a couple flakes here and there but I don't really know. Ya know? Good luck to all ya all and stay off my land.

-D. Jones

Dorado, welcome to the forum!!

Just because you're in California doesn't mean that you have gold on your property, that being said do you know if gold has been found in the past in your immediate area?

If so you may well indeed have gold on your property and maybe you don't, the only way to know is to find the gold by testing, which I know you've been trying to do so, but if you don't know what gold looks like when you see it in your pan you maybe washing gold out by not know it's gold, that is where you first need to start, learning what gold looks like and how it acts in your pan.