Nugget Shooter Forums

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

nick

Burning Activated Carbons help!!!

Hello i am new to the whole mining game, my grandfather has recently pasted and on his property i found a couple 50 gallon druns full of carbons after doing some intial testing I found that these carbons are loaded with gold. I have been trying to figure out the easiest way to get the gold off the carbons and "into my pocket" so to say..

Can anyone help me out with a step by step process on how to go about burning the carbons or is there an easier way to "strip" the carbons,

I have no plans on re-using them

Thank you

Nick

Are you talking about Activated Carbon from Bone?

I'm not sure, I was told they where Activated carbon. They are small little black pieces, almost looks like little rocks

Was your Grandfather a prospector?

Are you sure what you've found isn't blacksands?

Have you tried panning this material to see if you can separate the gold?

Skip

And What makes you think this stuff contains Gold?

md-cartoon2.jpg

I had them sent away for testing and they told me they where loaded activated carbons, and that they are loaded with gold..Aprox 1100 g/t

I had read on another site that you could burn them. But i don't want to just set fire to the drums.

He came from a small town Northern Ontario with lots of hardrock mining, all underground or open pit mining.

I have been told that he used to work in a mill or somewhere around the mill?

Hopefully this will help

Nick-

There is a way to strip gold from carbon but it involves some nasty chemicals and you have way too much to process safely by yourself.. Not sure about burning it either. Some gold could just go up in smoke.