Nugget Shooter Forums

Newbie needs Help!!!!

Hello everybody,

I am new to meteorite hunting. I've been looking for a year or so. I think I have found one!!  I am looking for people's opinions on this. Here we go

It weighs 481 g

1. It is magnetic

2. It doesn't leave streaks on the rough side of tile. It does scratch it though

3. The specific gravity is 2.96g/cm3

4.i haven't figured out exactly how to do the Nickel test. I need to do more research on this subject

5. Window test? Should I really cut this suspected meteorite? That just sounds crazy. I have a tile saw that will work. 

Any comments or suggestions? 

http://m1152.photobucket.com/albumview/albums/viper10xz/photo-4.jpg.html?o=0

Thank you all ahead of time

Brandon

I wouldn't CUT it, but I would examine both of either ends and determine which end is relatively the flatest, and then just sand it. Use aluminum oxide sand paper, start with 60 or 80 grit, and work my way up to 1000 or even1200 grit, but use all the other grits in between working my way up. ( 80-100-150-240-400-600-800-1000-1200), and when you get to the 400 and up, those are usually "wet sand", but don't use em wet, use em dry. Also don't try to hold the specimen still and sand with the paper in yer other hand, it's easier to lay the paper flat and hold the the specimen firmly to get an evenly cut window into the formerly unexposed interior all with minimal material loss. You should end up with a small, glass smooth, window, and if there is metal and chondrules in there, you will see them and the metal. If this helps? Anybody else care to add to my suggestion?