Nugget Shooter Forums

Need Info on Solar Panel

Anyone out there experienced with solar panels??

I am just learning the basics here I guess.

Heres the question:

I purchased used a panel about 12 x 18 inches with 2 leads coming out with batt. clips on the ends of the red / black leads.

When setting the panel in direct sunlite I connected my digital ohm meter to it on DC Volts and its showing me between 22.+ and 23.+ volts reading.

Now I was told this panel was connected to a battery on a travel trailer to help charge it.

I'm ignorant about this so can I just clip the batt. leads onto my trailer batt. and everything is beautiful.

Or do I need some kind of box to regulate the voltage coming from the panel to the batt. BECAUSE ITS SHOWING 22 + VOLTS ???

When I switched the meter to DC Amps it barely fluctuated between 1 and 2 amps mostly read 1 barely not steady.

I am also wanting to use this panel for keeping an auxillary 12 volt batt. charged that I connect my detector batts to, to keep them charged in the field.

Anybody up on this solar stuff ???? That can keep me from frying or blowing anything up !!!!!

The panel has no stickers/labels etc. giving me any info about it. And I bought it at a yard sale from a woman that wasn't very knowledgable with it.

Thanks

Frank , yOu need a charge controller to regulate the charging voltage your battery "sees". COntrollers are sized by total wattage handled, mainly, ( and amperage). I'm figuring you'll get 30 watts max out of your panels.( Volt xAmps =Watts)......

By the way, solar modules( panels) are down to about a buck per watt, in bulk.

Look at the links and also google "solar charge controller" for more info

http://www.freesunpower.com/chargecontrollers.php

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882260064&nm_mc=KNC-GoogleKWLess&cm_mmc=KNC-GoogleKWLess-_-NA-_-NA-_-NA

Go to harbor freight and the inverters are at a great price and last for many MANY years of abuse. tons a au 2 u 2 -John