Nugget Shooter Forums

12 Volt Mining

Crab_Cake

I am planning on going mining this spring up in Idaho. My grandfather owns some gold bearing land in a very remote region. My mom and dad placer mined the creeks that run through his property back in the 80s and were able to make a living at it.

Anyways it hasn't been touched in 24 years. (since I was born) I am planning on making a small trip up there right when the snow melts and doing some tests to see if I can find a bit of gold. I will also be mapping out the property and getting a lay of the land. If I find some gold and can make a decent ROI than I will be staying the entire summer up there. This is a very remote region, 45 miles of dirt roads to the nearest town and its at about 6000 feet elevation.

I am new to this but I have been reading every book on gold mining and gold geology I can find and have been researching all I can on the internet. I am sure I will have a bunch of questions for you guys in the coming months. =D

Anyways I have been looking at power sluices and highbankers and it seems like that is the way to go. I was really interested in the Jobe Magnum Power Sluice. It seems that it would be much nicer to spend hours and hours in the scenic mountains with a quiet 12v system than an annoying gas pump. I want to use that sluice for my main runnings and then build a popandson sluice for fine gold recovery.

The main concern is the pump. The Jobe comes with this 2200 GPH Johnson Bilge Pump. I would like to use this pump with the main sluice and with the popandson by installing a DC variable motor controller to reduce the flow and the battery usage when needed. Do you think that this setup will work or will using the PWM system on a bilge pump destroy it?

I am trying to keep everything low cost and as eco-conscious as possible. I really like the idea of running everything off of batteries and maybe even getting a solar power system to charge it all. Clean, silent, and free energy. =D