Nugget Shooter Forums

NewB Here, Looking for Info About Kyburz

goodlookin1

Hello everyone,

I am an extreme newbie to Gold panning. I've been reading up on it for a few weeks and I cant seem to find the information I am looking for (prospectors seem reluctant to give info sometimes on the "where" part, understandably). I'm mainly looking to do this for fun and not doing this as a full time job or anything.

Anyway, my family owns a cabin right on the American River in Kyburz, CA. Elevation is right about 4200-4300 ft or so. Seems a little high to be an ideal gold panning area, but I guess you never know until you try, right? My thought was, "well, the Placer deposits down lower have got to come from somewhere, so maybe it starts up here". My question is, would I be wasting my time up there? Are there claims that I should worry about? I've never seen any markers or anything, but I really havent been that observant, nor was I specifically looking for them.

Any help or insight would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Start taking samples and that will tell you if its worth your time, check on minecache, a gooogle earth program that marks past /present producers in your area.Also the B.L.M. offers maps that are available for $15.00 with claims . Good luck, have fun, make $..... Bill. A.K.A. yuccagold!

Thanks YuccaGold, very helpful with the minecache info! I checked it out and it appears that there are no active gold claims anywhere near the family cabin......I dont know if this is a good thing or a bad thing. I guess we'll see!

Quick question: How large are gold claims? Are they measured in feet? Acres? How do I know if I'm stepping into restricted panning territory? I'm guessing it would have to be clearly marked out, otherwise it's not really fair at all. I'm certainly not looking to step on anyone's toes if I get adventurous...