Nugget Shooter Forums

Dredge Cleanup Frequency

Countryboy

How often should you clean out your suction dredge?

I've been panning and dredging off and on with a buddy since 2003. We normally have one guy dredging, while the other guy keeps the tailings pile knocked down with a shovel and the 2nd guy also pans down his concentrates from his turn dredging. It breaks up the routine nicely, and is a good way to spend time with a friend, but it seems like we spend a lot of time doing cleanout. My buddy Tom got me into panning, and he had been taught that people often don't clean out their sluice often enough - it gets loaded up with heavy sand, and then your gold washes right on out the tailings. Switching places and doing frequent clean outs was fine when it was two guys sharing one dredge, but now I have a highbanker with a dredge attachment, and Tom got a bigger dredge too. Now that we have the equipment ability for both guys to move some dirt, I wonder if we can get away with not cleaning up so often. Or should we look at it that even if we lose some gold out the tailings, by dredging longer periods of time we should be sucking in more than we are losing?

I'm in central Ohio, and out gold is very fine flour gold. I have only found one picker so far, and it was so small that I could barely pick it out of the pan. Most of the other guys I pan with who have panned for years may only have one or two pickers. Our gold is dust.

Does the fineness of the gold affect how often you should clean out the dredge sluice?

Your specific type and style of equipment will answer them questions as some MUCH more forgiving-over/under especially. Also all changes to carpet,header,jet also predicates. The more info you post gets exact info as generalities--as your post--provides squat to give a answer to--post mo'info-John