Nugget Shooter Forums
Sign in to follow this  
idrissleroy

Metal detecting and lightning strikes

Hi guys

I'm new to metal detecting and i've read quite a lot about it on various forums but never found any topic about metal detecting and lightning strikes. May be am i worrying for nothing but I would like to metal detect during the rainy season and here's my question: is there no risk of lightning strikes to use a metal detector in rainy weather? Is VLF or PI safer? Any informations or links will be highly appreciated. Thanks

IL

Hi guys

I'm new to metal detecting and i've read quite a lot about it on various forums but never found any topic about metal detecting and lightning strikes. May be am i worrying for nothing but I would like to metal detect during the rainy season and here's my question: is there no risk of lightning strikes to use a metal detector in rainy weather? Is VLF or PI safer? Any informations or links will be highly appreciated. Thanks

IL

Only worry about lightning when there is thunder or lightning. Having a metal detector in your hand doesn't matter one bit. Elevation on the other hand, or just standing there watching the light show.. :inocent: :yuk-yuk: :thumbsupanim

If you are detecting in open fields and a T-storm blows in, odds are you would be heading for the car before the rain arrived. Best suggestion is don't walk in a lightning storm with the detector propped over your shoulder or held up in the air. Lightning usually takes the fastest way to ground...just make sure that's not through you.. bur2.gif

Mike

When metal detecting you will hear the lightening in your headset....it's very pronounced spikes

of sound...that's when it's time to turn that detector off and get in the car and go home or at

least sit it out....

About five years ago I was in an area that had produced a couple of good nuggets so I didn't pay

any attention to the lightening in my headset...I should have...when I came to I was still standing