Nugget Shooter Forums

ores of all sorts

Hello, I am new to all of this. My husband and I are digging a pond in our back yard. We have found topaz garnet quartz granite a few pieces of coal and in the rocks are gold streaks. The dirt just sparkles all over. Also alot of ores with clear stones, some tiny some nice size which I'm not sure what these are yet.. But I do not know where we are to take these to, to have them checked out and to find out who would want them? Oh, we have silver ores also. Every web site seems to take me somewhere else other than answering my questions so if ANYONE CAN HELP :thumbsupanim I WOULD SOOOO APPRECIATE IT! THANK YOU! One more thing, we have little gold nuggets and flakes, but how can we tell the difference between gold and pirite? Alot of questions, I know... Thanks!

TM sure wish I had your problem with all those minerals...stones...gold streaks...nuggets...

First do you have a metal detector?...how do you know the streaks are gold?...and how big

are the streaks(length and width)?....

If you have a hard surface like a anvil put what you think might be gold or pyrite and hit it

with a hammer....if it's gold it will just flatten out a little...if it's pyrite it will shatter

into little pieces....of course if it is gold you've just ruined a nugget....you don't say where

you live....if your close to a miners supply they might have acid for a acid test on gold...that

would be a better test than the hammer.....

If you live close to the Phoenix,AZ area you could contact Professor Southern and ask him for a

on-the-spot evaluation of your pond....he can be contacted at any of these sub-forums since he's

also the owner of this great site....

Good luck....I hope your going strike it rich!!!!

TM sure wish I had your problem with all those minerals...stones...gold streaks...nuggets...

First do you have a metal detector?...how do you know the streaks are gold?...and how big

are the streaks(length and width)?....