Nugget Shooter Forums

F75 for meteorite hunting

Hi everyone!

I'm newbie in meteorite hunting and metal detecting and willing to buy an MD (mostly for meteorite hunting as well as for coin shooting).

As I said, I have no experience, so my selection of possible brand and model is based only on visual feeling so far. I like Fisher F75. It looks well arm balanced, perfect from technical point of view, user friendly and just cool. In the same time I noticed, that many board members suggest White's GMT. I believe it's perfect machine. But I'm little bit scared by big amount of switchers, handles and so on.

So my question is next: is F75 good for meteorite hunting as GMT is (accounting F75's higher price)?

Thank you in advance for your answers and suggestions.

Aloha Yuriyv,

I now that Jim will just jump in on this one as he owned an F75 for a week or two and was absolutely shocked by how bad its performance was out at Franconia. Nuff said about that!

The Whites GMT has performed GREAT for me as well as a bunch of others on this forum. The learning curve is short IF you pay attention to the instructions and even spend time watching the insrtuctional video. Dont be intimitated by the switches and dials!!:yuk-yuk: If you go ahead and purchase the GMT let us know and I am sure some of the other forum members as well as myself will be more than happy to provide you will some tips on how to setup your GMT for max performance in the field. Let us know what you do. My best advice is once you do make your purchase, dont let it sit in the closet gathering dust. Take it out every day if you have the chance and PRACTICE,PRACTICE,PRACTICE!

Aloha from Vegas,

Stan aka Kaimi

Okay Jim now you can go ahead and rant about the F75!:brows: :brows: :inocent::zzzzz:

Hi everyone!

I'm newbie in meteorite hunting and metal detecting and willing to buy an MD (mostly for meteorite hunting as well as for coin shooting).