Nugget Shooter Forums

Introduction and trip to Franconia

Hello folks,

Just a brief intro, I'm new to meteorite hunting and live in southern California. Been a flintknapper for many years and just now getting into meteorite hunting (Paleomanjim on Youtube). My son lives in Vegas and does a lot of 4 wheeling so we spent a week last month traveling along the east part of Nevada and spent some time searching dry lake beds looking for our first meteorite. Saw a lot of chipping grounds and some artifacts but no meteorites, or at least anything that would stick to our magnets. I am heading out to Franconia and perhaps Gold Basin on June 11th for 3 or 4 days of hunting, this time solo, weather allowing. Traveling in a camper van and bringing along my enduro motorcycle to get around. I picked up a used Fisher Goldbug, the original, not the 2. I've been practicing with it in the yard, seems to work fairly well and simple to use. Not sure if this is a good detector or not for meteorites, the price was right so I bought it. I'm thinking about buying a Goldbug 2 for my son, the higher frequency one. Any thoughts on the Goldbug 2 or should I go with something else? Any suggestions appreciated. I'm kinda excited about the thought of finding a meteorite!.If any of you are gonna be out there maybe we can get together, thanks.....jim

Jim, Franconia has an area on the north side of the freeway that is designated "Wilderness Area", be aware of it as there are NO motor vehicles allowed.

Can't comment on the GB2, but the original will do just fine for you. Have fun an Hapy Huntn.

Jim,