Nugget Shooter Forums

Introducing Myself

Greetings from the frigid north!

I'm a disgruntled diesel mechanic, that found gold mining 15 years ago, and i'm finally on the verge of being able to do it for a living. I have my own claims about 80 miles outside of Nome Alaska. Just a small suction dredging operation, but it belongs to me!Heres a few pics from the mine, hope you enjoy!

post-25248-0-65425400-1301075328_thumb.jpost-25248-0-72371400-1301075278_thumb.jpost-25248-0-39470000-1301075300_thumb.jpost-25248-0-79041700-1301075312_thumb.j

Being I'm mining in AK, I'm only able to work the ground between June and October. Which brings me to why I'm here :brows: I intend to spend this next winter in AZ, and maybe do a little nugget shooting while there. This seems to be the place to learn from some of the best. No I dont want your honey hole, just honest advise! I'm quite capable of finding my own gold, just new to detecting :grr01:

I currently own 2 beepers whites TDI and GMT(brand spankin new) would love to own a gpx5000, but i'm gonna wait and see before I drop over 5 grand on a beeper!!

post-25248-0-96493300-1301077032_thumb.j

Here is a few chunkies I found last summer :D sorry there is no scale with that pic, i think the biggest one was about 4 dwt. Not big by Nuggetshooter standards, but nice to find, just the same :)

Take care and happy hunting!

Dave

Welcome aboard, Nice spot you got up there looks like a nice catch for gold on that claim and no stacked rock to boot, I always wanted to go up there and do that,Iam sure you will get some good info hear,

Thanks for the welcome fellas! It is beautiful country with fair gold(and a ton and half of skeeters) :angry-smiley-010[1]: