Nugget Shooter Forums

Montana Prospectors

Montana gold

Hello there,

My name is Kris, and I live in Missoula, Mt. I have spent years playing with the idea of gold prospecting. Montana, as a state, has quite a history in mineral developement. Besides the hours of hitting keys on a computer and trying to learn anything that I can about how to find gold, I have no experience. I have decided to give it a real shot, and expect to learn a lot 'on the job training', but would take any advice available. I have been in touch with a great older gal who owns several claims in the Cedar Creek drainage, south of Superior, Mt. She is willing to do a year lease on the 600 plus acres, for the price of an ounce of gold. I have spent hours researching the area, and back in the 1870's, it was quite a gold rush. As many as 2000 ounces a week, although the info is from census polls, and miners are pretty well known for not telling quite what they had found. It was also followed up by the Chinese, who some say did better than the white miners before them. There was also some hydrolic work done in the area. Nothing has been worked since the mid 90's. If there is anyone on this forum that might be able to clue me in a bit, I would be grateful. Otherwise, I hope that a positive attitude, the love for my Montana Mountains, and sure determination, will help me find a little color. Thanks for allowing me to ask questions. I have read many postings already, and can't help but think this is a great place to find 'no bs' answers.

Hi Kris,

Welcome to the site! howdy.gif

I'm fairly new myself, so can't be of much help with the prospecting tips, but I would

be very cautious about spending anything to work on a claim until I had gained at

least some good, basic prospecting skills. A year lease on 600 acres for approx $1450 might

be a great deal, but I would want to first learn how to get gold out of there. Any chance of

finding someone to work with you that has some prospecting experience?