Nugget Shooter Forums

Garrett Infinium vs Whites TDI

I have a Minelab GPX5000 for my main detector. I bought the Infinium for the wife. I really like the Infinium so when my wife stated she wanted something that did not need headphones with I purchased a whites TDI. I have a whites GMT also but I prefer the PI's for serious nuggett hunting.

Anyways after going out with both I have been somewhat dissappointed with the TDI so far. I know I am still learning the TDI somewhat but the depth compared to the Infinium is dissappointing after all I have been reading about on the whites.

I am running the 8" mono on my Infinium so that may be helping. I want to try a NF or coiltech on the TDI to see if that helps. Im not going to come to any conclustions yet until I do more shooting with both and learn the TDI better, so far its just a first impression after running them over multiple targets.

I hit a target with the Infinium first then run the TDI over the same target to see how it responds and if it is anything deeper than 3-4" the TDI will not sound off. I will keep updating as I go along, as it very well could be my settings, but I feel im very close to the proper settings so we will see.

Hello Whylee. I've been using a TDI for a bit over a year so far, and have no problem hearing much deeper signals than that.

Perhaps its the size of the object? I understand the TDI isn't real good with very small targets, although I have dug buckshot, and similar sized pieces of trash. I have dug larger trash targets down to 12". I think it was a 30 cal. slug.

I have only used a GMT before the TDI, and have no experience with other machines to compare though. I'm just ralaying what I've seen with mine.

Keep the faith, it's a great machine.

Patrick.....

Whylee... You have a considerable amount of money invested in just

the three Pulses. First... the 5000 (which I could not swing

as I'm now 81, pretty deaf and artheritic) would be my first choice