Nugget Shooter Forums

I was told this was meteorite...what do you think?

I stumbled upon this magnetic rock and I performed all the online tests. It passed all of them. The rocks of course are dirty and covered with Georgia red clay...or rust? I am not sure.Can anyone tell me more from the pictures. Or tell me where to take it even? This piece weighs approx 14 ounces.

IMG_0487.jpg

IMG_0472.jpg

IMG_0484.jpg

Im no expert but I do remember reading about other Georgia finds that are very similar looking...

If it passed the test, hey, it passed the TEST! If thats not good enough for you try contacting your local university for further identification.

I stumbled upon this magnetic rock and I performed all the online tests. It passed all of them. The rocks of course are dirty and covered with Georgia red clay...or rust? I am not sure.Can anyone tell me more from the pictures. Or tell me where to take it even? This piece weighs approx 14 ounces.

Where is the Window? I do not see a window in the pictures?

Jim

Where is the Window? I do not see a window in the pictures?

Jim

Now I am not an expert but window is where I file the corner to expode the shiny metalic substance right? It is on another piece I will ad that pic. I am taking more pics of them now, Thanks

This is a pic of the rust spots. The following pics are after I filed away the rust spots. Exposing iron pieces.

IMG_0498.jpg

IMG_0500.jpg

Can you imagine how hot this had to of gotten for this to flow out of the rock like that?

IMG_0495.jpg

Now I am not an expert but window is where I file the corner to expode the shiny metalic substance right? It is on another piece I will ad that pic. I am taking more pics of them now, Thanks

Check out http://desertsunburn.no-ip.org and read the document about if you think you found a meteorite. That will help.