Nugget Shooter Forums

Newbie Analysis

Hello Everyone!

This is my first time posting. I am a total newbie just trying to learn how to identify meteorites. I recently found this suspicious looking rock. Here is what I know....uh...or at least what I think I know :-)

It came from a location not associated with any known find in southwest Arizona.

It weighs 691.728 grams

A magnet is attracted to it although not especially strong.

It displays contraction cracks

it has a very fine matrix

It appears to be something like maybe an LL2

It appears to contain olivine inclusions

It also appears to contain carbonaceous chondrules

It also has white inclusions...maybe silica

I polished a small window and using a loop, I can see several olivine crystals. I think I can see very small traces of iron specks.

Anyone care to give an opinion...It would be greatly appreciated!

Contraction cracks

Another look at cracks

Carbonaceous Chondrules and white inclusions

It attracts a magnet

The window

Thanks,

Rich

Hi Rich

I at first picture thought maybe but the window pix makes me real doubtful. Do you see any free metal in it ?? In the window pix it becomes obvious that it a desert varnish finish and the bottom side is lacking. I would guess granite or some other grainy material.

Maybe some better closeups of the window. I think it's terrestrial but I could be wrong !! Happy Huntin John B.

Hello Rich,