Nugget Shooter Forums

what type of detector

dan lestelle

i am new to your site. i love reading the articles. however i cant possibly afford a mine lab detector. i have a whites gmt. i am new to nugget hunting. my first trips i went to some old places near hydralic mining areas out side of grass valley. i found nothing but bullits. i thought i was doing something wrong until i talked to a pro. he stated to me that i was doing all the right things if i was finding bullits. what say you pros? when i purchased my whites i was told at keen engineering in northridge calif that a whites was just as good as a minelab.and the whites would find much smaller nuggets than the minelab. now in regards to a minelab whats the average cost for a nugget detector? also i just retired to sparks nevada and i am interested in new site to nugget shoot.

Welcome aboard this crazy ride, Dan!

If you're finding bullets, it's working. Small gold doesn't make a loud sound on the detector. Several folks on here have been successful with a GMT and here's hoping they'll chime in.

The hard part is figuring out how the detector works and sounds in the field. Air testing and such will give you false ideas about hw it works. Get yourself a test target (buy a small piece of gold) and epoxy it on a poker chip. This is called a throw down. Attach some goo thick string to the chip and throw it on the ground (see the name coming in to play?) and do some test swinging with the lock trigger pulled back. Now, bury that poker chip a couple inches down - 2 or 3 max - and do the same thing. Keep burying it until you can no longer hear it with the gain and such cranked up.

Now, do this and try to find it without the trigger pulled and in both Auto and Manual ground balance.

The trick is low and slow.

Every time you start to hunt, throw down that chip to get your ears right.

There is no such thing as a "gold detector" they all find metals. Some just have programs in them to help focus on Gold.