Nugget Shooter Forums
Sign in to follow this  
goldstrike

metal detector good or bad

Hi all,

My name is Joe and I am looking for any infomation on gold detectors and how and where to start.I'm actually new to the las vegas area and I want to buy a detector for gold and a seperate one for on the beach. There are just so many I'm having a tough time of where to start. Money is a issue but i am patient and can save for a better detector if thats the way to go. Any advise would be appreciated. I,m also looking for someone in the area to go detecting with. Thank You joe

Personally i'm a huge fan of Whites MXT its a decent 3 in 1 detector. Particularly for the new operator. You can find small gold and large junk with no problem. Learning curve is smooth. If you get good enough to find gold regularly (which seems to be more about your knowledge of prospecting than your beeper). Then you may consider buying an uber high end machine. You can then ebay your mxt for close to what you paid for it, use it in ground conditions that work better for the MXT than a pi machine, lend it to a friend when you are turning someone on to the hobby, or heaven forbid, let the wife use it instead of staying home :yuk-yuk: -sport

Welcome Joe, there should be quite a few nuggethunters in the Vegas area with you I'm sure some will post here.

And I think you're on the right track with the 2 separate detectors line of thinking.

A gold specific detector for nuggetshooting and another for general beeping.

Depending on your budget finding a good used machine to start may be the key.

Follow the forums, TOO much info here which translates into "keep reading" you will definitely become educated.

Try sending Bill Southern an e-mail about your detector situation he can provide you with the ultimate guidance and may know of a deal somewhere to be had.

Hapy Huntn.

Hi all,