Nugget Shooter Forums

Meteorites vs. gold nugetts

Hi,

I'm just starting out - thinking about buying a metal detector. One question I have is that most product information is geared towards gold or coins. And, I see people saying in videos "Oh that's iron (because of the sound) and we will skip digging it up".

But for meteorites itn't if the opposite- don't we want iron?

So how is using a metal dectector different for meteories vs. gold propecting. Or is it the same basically?

ThaNks,

Lee

Lee, I'm gonna try to cut thru the smoke an mirrors here real quickly for you.

If you want to hunt gold and or meteorites you DON'T want a coin detector.

You wouldn't want a tack hammer to drive a spike into a 2x4 right.

Basically you don't want a mode called "discrimination" when hunting gold or meteorites.

You DO want a powerful detector with great sensitivity.

Now that I have your attention.... :zip-lip: ..... YES there are detectors out there that have various programs, coins, relic, prospecting, etc.

BUT they are multi-purpose design and the problem with that is they are a "compromise" design to be able to handle ALL modes.

SO you give up a little here to do this AND you give up a little there to do that and so on. In essence its a compromise to achieve each mode or program.

If you want to get the RIGHT TOOL for the job you don't want to "comprimise in doing so. It will lessen your end result.

I can probably go on from here but I would have to compromise my time because my other half is wanting me OFF the puter to go out to dinner.

So others will chime in to futher explain and expand on your question.

And basically YES you do want a detector to recognize iron and all other metals ( nickle) to have the capability to signal on meteorite content.

And iron content in soil and rocks is unfortunately surrounding most area that holds gold. Its said iron is the mother of gold.