Nugget Shooter Forums

Help Finding in Minnesota

Hey all Come spring and summer time in minnesota i was thinking about giving meteorite hunting a shot.:)

From what i have read and understood so far Minnesota may not be the greatest place to look, but i sill want to try

and i'm wondering what some good places might be to look?

so far i was thinking parks,parking lots, cornfields if i get a chance to leave the city...

what are good inner city places to start? thanks everyone

Perhaps you should do a bit of study about meteorites while you wait...

I have been detecting parks and schools for 30 years, no meteorites...I have been eye-balling for coins and stuff all my life while walking the streets; again no meteorites...so I think your odds are slim to none. EXcept if there has been a recent fall such as Park forrest, etc.

Plowed fields just after a rain might produce a meteorite with lots of luck and patience...

fred

Hey all Come spring and summer time in minnesota i was thinking about giving meteorite hunting a shot.:)

From what i have read and understood so far Minnesota may not be the greatest place to look, but i sill want to try

and i'm wondering what some good places might be to look?

so far i was thinking parks,parking lots, cornfields if i get a chance to leave the city...

what are good inner city places to start? thanks everyone

There's been 8 meteorites found in MN so that is where I would start. If they found one in a given area, there could be more. Do your research on MN meteorites.

Steve

Bob...where is your Christmas Spirit???? I know you know stuff...can't you give the guy a lift? OH, I know you love teasing and stirring too...but, the nubbie might not...

Happy hunting

fred

I just couldn't help it. I certainly did not mean to rub anyone the wrong way. Dont know why it should have. I read the title and it looked like "Help finding Minnesota" to me.