Nugget Shooter Forums
Sign in to follow this  
victorgonzales

Superstition Mountains nugget hunting

So I am completely new to prospecting but I am an avid outdoorsman and figured this hobby would suit me. Im not looking for the dutchmans mine or anything. Just looking to do a lot of hiking and was wondering if anyone had any tips on good places to start in the Superstition Mountains.

I am also curious how to find out if there are active claims out there and what the protocol is for those areas. Are the areas fenced that are off limits? I really don't want to get into some trouble out there.

Also if anyone knows where i can find good maps of the mountains and maybe even maps of areas that are off limits it would be much appreciated.

Not many known nugget producing areas in the Superstitions being worked by detectors as the geology in much of the area is not right. But there are stories and legends as we all know.

The Peralta Family was known to have some rich mines to the East, but Apaches hid most of those after killing off most of the family and hiding the gold they carried.

Also there was a mine and some placer gold near Apache Junction in Goldfield which is all on private property and a tourist attraction now.

Gold is where you find it, but I hunt more favorable areas known to produce placer nuggets so have no experience in the Superstitions...

• Thanks 1

the blm and forest service produce maps of Our land that they control...Uncle Ron produces good maps of various placer areas...I don't think anyone is likely to guide you to closed and off limit areas...you can figure that out for yourself...

good luck

fred

Hey Victor,