Nugget Shooter Forums

Pay gold is 12 inches from where you are looking.

bcache

The summer of 2009 my wife and I tent camped near a stream in SW Oregon. Went to town every 4 days or so to get supplies, mostly beer and ice.

I was a green horn at panning so I took a self-taught, crash course in panning. After panning 4-5 days a week for 3 months I felt that my panning was OK. I had also covered several miles of the stream and tribs.

One fine day I hiked about 3 miles upstream from the camp and worked my way down. After 2hrs I had a a few flakes and some dust, a little discouraged but soon found a vertical bedrock crack above water level that gave up some nice flakes. Moving down stream about 3 feet I took a pan full from the surface between man-sized boulders. After panning it for a short while nice size flakes and a few pickers completely surrounded the black sand. OH BOY! There is still a lot of gravel there! That turned out to be one heck of a pay pan. My next pan had a few nice flakes. Not very many pans later--nothing. Almost all of the gold was concentrated on the surface of about one sq ft. I could not see anything special about that spot. There were boulders everywhere.

Over the next week with about 20 hours of panning within 10 feet of that vertical crack I came up with 6 small nuggets, coarse gold and fines totaling near 1/2oz. No other pan came close to that pay pan though.

My lesson that day was when it comes to gold you sometime don't know where pay is going to come from. I do my best to keep that in mind.

I'm curious. Has anybody had a similar experience?

Have a good turkey day, I'm about to stuff myself full.

Bill C

Sounds to me that a little "river reading" was going on in your subconscious and you were at the outside edge of a pay streak area.

Can you recall any other features of the creek/river where you were with regards to area of flow, bends, etc. Think about it where you would think the river to be at flood stage.