Nugget Shooter Forums

This rock has sat on my desk for years, & every day I wonder if this thing could represent a new truck or a steak dinner, I was offered $20.00 for it from a friend that has skinned me on every trade we have entered. I have found S R from Gold Basin & seen Iron S R. & this thing doesn't resemble those.It has a dull finish over all but where I filed it looks like iron, I think I found it at Rye Patch.

Thanks in advance. Chuck

post-873-027661600 1290018774_thumb.jpg

post-873-021567900 1290018845_thumb.jpg

post-873-019928700 1290018905_thumb.jpg

post-873-087638500 1290018969_thumb.jpg

Chuck ... since you appear to be in TX by your screen name ... the best thing for you to do is take it to TCU in Fort Worth I think. There is a meteorite museum there ... they could probably tell you for sure! Good luck.

Mike F

I'm a newbie at this, but I'll stick my neck out, and my nose in, and give my humble opinion that it's not a meteorite. It has air holes blown out on the surface, and appears to have small flecks of other material on the surface, no fusion crust.

Does a magnet stick to it?

Chuck ... since you appear to be in TX by your screen name ... the best thing for you to do is take it to TCU in Fort Worth I think. There is a meteorite museum there ... they could probably tell you for sure! Good luck.

Mike F

Mike, Thinks, I will give them a try.

Absolutely 100% not a meteorite. I see no evidence of fusion crust and it has air bubbles in it. All indications of a meteorwrong.

The advice of "taking it to a scientist" is not good because it backs them up and takes away from their time to look at real meteorites. With a little bit of online research most people have the aptitude to figure out if it's the real deal or not. I would think it would be better advice to advise the person to do a few simple home tests to determin it on their own. If everything checks out, then take it to a scientist.