Nugget Shooter Forums

help please! gold geology a billion diffrent rocks ?

OK I am a beginner got my first detector mine-lab x Terra 705. I am hunting in pike national forest in Colorado. On my way there I can see so many different rocks because all the roads are cut into the mountains leaving a sheer face of the rock. So my eyes hurt by the time I get where I am going because I am looking at all these rocks. :ph34r2:

Now I have read Bill's articles on the geology of gold and thought to myself "hey this sounds pretty easy just look for a certain geology like fault lines and quartz and your set". Well I found nothing but junk so far. Only been out two times but found bullets and such tiny stuff I didn't think a detector could find like a piece of aluminum just a few millimeters wide.

My Question:

What sort of situation am I looking for when I see all these rocks?confused0082[1].gif I must say geology just became very very interesting now that you throw finding gold into everything. I got a bad feeling I got the fever.Christz_pillepalle[1].gif

You know what would be nice is a gallery for people like me of rocks. So I can see what I am looking for when I am finally outside hunting.

Howdy Gold Striker-

Welcome to the best hobby ever...prospecting for gold. We all have a million questions when we first start out, and at times, becoming competent in the field can seem to be an overwhelming task. But with research and practice you will get a handle on it. In your post you wrote "You know what would be nice is a gallery for people like me of rocks."

Here is a link to a mineral database that I found very helpful>>>Database

Good luck!

Jason