Nugget Shooter Forums

White's TDI

wjbell

OK, so I'm just starting out with the GB2 and think this will be good for me for a while but was curious about the TDI. Is this a true PI like he Minelabs? I'm guessing it can't compare to a Minelab because a GPX is 5K and the TDI is $1500. I'm just checking it out maybe for the future.

OK, so I'm just starting out with the GB2 and think this will be good for me for a while but was curious about the TDI. Is this a true PI like he Minelabs? I'm guessing it can't compare to a Minelab because a GPX is 5K and the TDI is $1500. I'm just checking it out maybe for the future.

It is indeed a good entry level PI from all the reports and has some interesting features and I am sure some users will chime in here, I have not tested the final version as yet myself.

If you are asking if it a step up from a VLF as well the answer it a definite yes if you will be hunting in highly mineralized soils.

Hi wjbell,

Yes, the TDI is a true PI. No, it will not compete depth wise with the more expensive ML's, but it is no slouch either. In some places and under certain circumstances it will really excel when comparing PI's, but at other times, the TDI will look like it fails terribly. This can occur on a very specific size nugget and an associated ground balance setting. The trick is to know why and what to do to minimize any problems.

Now, as a PI, the TDI ignores many of the hotrocks or most black sand that plague the VLF's. Yes, there will be a few rocks that will generate a signal, but overall, many if not most will be ignored.