Nugget Shooter Forums

John B, What kind of snake?

Hi All, Heading up Goler Gulch in the El Paso Mountains my wife spotted this snake 20ft above us on the cliff heading into a rat nest. Took a telephoto shot of it, but could not scale the vertical cliff to catch and identify it. Have seen Rosy boas, king snakes and rattlers in this area, but never a snake like this. What do you think? an Albino Gopher snake or a Gopher snake in a pinkish desert color phase, or? Have seen Blackish Pacific rattlers and blackish Garter snakes on the central CA. coast were the soil is black. Any ideas? Bob

post-1621-127223429909_thumb.jpg

post-1621-127223439206_thumb.jpg

I'm not an expert on western snakes, show me an eastern snake and I can tell you what it is, but I think it is a Sonora Gopher snake..."Dorsal blotches brown or red-brown, darker towards the tail than toward the head", or a Great Basin Gopher snake, without being able to see the entire snake this is my guess, it is a little bit lighter and the dorsal blotches are a little small but it could still be a Sonora Gopher.

The dorsal blotches look more like a Great Basin Gopher snake.

"Sonoran Gopher Snake (P. c. affinis): Dorsal blotches brown or red-brown, darker towards the tail than toward the head. Range: Most of Arizona except for the far northern part of the state, eastward to western New Mexico and extreme western Texas, southward into Sonora and Chihuahua.

"Great Basin Gopher Snake (P. c. deserticola): Dorsal blotches near the neck black, connected with vertical crossbars creating a weak ladder-like pattern. Range: South-central British Columbia southard through eastern Washington and Oregon, most of Nevada to southeastern California. Range extends eastward to eastern Idaho, Utah, western Colorado, and northern Arizona and New Mexico."

http://www.nearctica.com/herps/snakes/colubrid/Pcatenif.htm

http://www.birdandhike.com/Wildlife/Snake/Pit_mel/_Pit_mel.htm

Skip