Nugget Shooter Forums

Anyone using a trommel?

Fishinbobo

• 4 weeks later...

I have looked at some of the trommel videos. i would like to try one but there costly to buy.

maybe if i get lucky and get a pound of gold i will get one lol. i seem to only manage to get an eighth of an ounce per weekend.

You wouldneed to have a trommel you can shovel dirt and gravels into the trommel. the videos i have seen they use SMALL SCOOP.

and some of the tromell videos the water is leaking out in many places, and they dont provide a pump with the tromell to circulate the water.

water in the desert is hard to keep. i run a streem sluice, recirculating water. the water i find is best changed out after running 10 five gallons of red clay and gravels as the water tends to stay very muddy at that stage. i manage with 120 gallons of water a day, im only a novice a coupl of weeks prospecting in the desert.i live in nevada but i think all blm lands cant be prospected for fear of the law seizing equipment and vehicle. i prospect in arizona and people have been friendly and very helpful.

im thinking of a keane 151 drywasher or getting a tromell. but i find without good gear your wasting your time.

at the start i got a desert fox gold bowl for prospecting, which proved useless/but its awsome for getting the gold when you have gold bearing concentrates from cleaning the sluice.i have my truck loaded to go tomorrow after work and hopefully i come on some good colour over the weekend.

it costs more on gas and supplie than i get in the value of gold but i enjoy prospecting and rinsing down the sluice to see if there is any colour. i work my rear end off digging for what i get but this might be my lucky weekend.

have fun and good luck prospecting. if you get a tromell let us know how you get on.