Nugget Shooter Forums

Hi this is my first post on this forum and I am new at metal detecting. I just purchased a tesoro lobo and thought I would spend a little time out in the desert north of Phoenix to see if I could figure my new machine out. I have to say I was quite impressed with just how sensitive this detector was.

My first hit was a small metal fragment of iron I'm guessing about the quarter size of a dime at about 6" down in wet sand on the creek bank. I didn't find any gold but I did find a small horse shoe in perfect condition, an old style bullet and a modern bullet. Needless to say I had a great time wandering around and seen some beautiful country, had to use 4x4 to get back to where I was.

I have a question though maybe some of you more experienced guys may be able to shed some light on for me. I was careful to check maps and stay on BLM land and I stayed away from old ruins that I seen other than to take some pretty neat pictures, but are you allowed to metal detect around old ruins? There are a couple of old ghost towns up that way but I don't know where to get the info on whether you can detect around them or not.

Anyway I attached a couple of pictures for your enjoyment if they actually work on here.

post-22970-12680949347_thumb.jpg

post-22970-126809495507_thumb.jpg

post-22970-126809497137_thumb.jpg

post-22970-126809499717_thumb.jpg

post-22970-126809501142_thumb.jpg

Welcome to the forums. Just to be safe you might not want to take any man made things you find with you. Just leave them where you find them. You don't have to be detecting near ruins because the artifact laws cover unknown artifact sites on open ground too.