Nugget Shooter Forums

Whopper........M-Rite or M-Wrong ???

Hi Everyone,

My son Jason and I were at Gold Basin Saturday and I came across this whopper. I actually spotted it in the ground first, then waved my GM3 over it and got a very strong signal. You can imagine my excitement when I pulled this whopper out of the ground!!! :ROFL: It is attracted to my neo-magnet, but not as strong as I would like to see and it weighs 18.6 pounds!!!

Since I'm still new to meteorite hunting, I need more sets of eyes to look at this specimen. I've attached some photos, any comments are welcome..... THANKS!

post-22670-126380095359_thumb.jpg

post-22670-126380113746_thumb.jpg

post-22670-126380154995_thumb.jpg

post-22670-126380159584_thumb.jpg

post-22670-126380162045_thumb.jpg

O.K. Buddy I'll stick my neck out here and say if it is one I've left a few like that at the basin. :whaaaa:

I could be wrong by the picture just MY opinion by the pic and description you gave.

File part of it and see what it looks like inside..streak test it too ..earth rock or not.????? You tell us. Thanks

VR, everyones wish, to find a killer meteorite...however, that isn't one. That looks like a typical basalt from Gold Basin and when you go to Franconia, the place is covered with them. More "hot" rocks than you can shake a stick at. The GM sounded off due to the magnetite/hematite mineralization. Keep hunting and good luck. Jason ;)

Thanks everyone for your knowledge and advice!!! I can differentiate most terrestrial hot rocks from meteorites, however, this one was questionable to me. Can anyone recommend what type of file (coarse, fine, etc) is best to take off a corner, and where can I purchase one?

I am naming this rock the "B-2 Bomber" Meteor-Wrong....LOL!!! :arrowheadsmiley:

post-22670-126402012287_thumb.jpg

post-22670-126402015466_thumb.jpg