Nugget Shooter Forums
grubstake

Notice1 By Grubstake

Since all the forums have gone to the new high speed format, as of Jan. 1st 2010, my internet will not be on, I have decided to do away with it all together, So my email address will no longer be valid after the 1st of the month. I'm on dial up and it takes twice as long under these new formats to load up a forum or post. Thanks Guys Grubstake

Gary... I'm om dialup too. Yes it is slow... But there are ways to make it work better.

Your Friend... Jim

Gary,

A different browser may help also, one that is more streamlined without a bunch of overhead. Google makes Chrome which is pretty fast and on a dialup, it could speed up your connections.

http://www.google.com/chrome/index.html

Give it a shot, you have nothing to lose and being a newbie, I'll probably be missing out on some valuable info if you leave...

Yes sir it's pay up to keep up or get out of the game and dial-up is slowly but surely phasing out. All these different browsers and accelerators claim to do this and that and it is all BS. The 56Kbps modem in your PC is capable of handling that 56Kbps and that's it. I have been on MSN dial-up for 10 years and the most I've ever seen is 54Kbps in my last PC that had a V90 modem. With my new HP/Compaq peice of junk PC with a soft data fax modem the fastest is 52Kbps and that drops way down during peak usage hours. Here's how modems work on HowStuffWorks.

I'm in the same boat grubstake and we have only 3 options, put up with it, or pay for high speed, or just say screw it. If you pull the plug your prospecting/mining knowledge and opinions will be greatly missed by many.

There is other options.

People PC was good at $10.00 a month.

They had a built in excellerator.

First few months was half the price.

Might try looking there.

http://www.peoplepc.com/newsignup/pages/Landing.aspx?offercode=CONNECT4LESS