Nugget Shooter Forums

Coiltek UFO ?

Pocketman

I plan to do some desert prospecting in Southern California soon in an area that has produced well for me in the past...both placer and hard-rock. I'm convinced that there is still plenty of gold to be had there...though it's beyond the reach of the VLFs I swung the last time I was there. This time I'll be using a GPX-4000. I'm looking for some advice on the best deep seeking coil to purchase for the project and I'm thinking the Coiltek UFO might just be the best choice. Does anyone have an opinion on the UFO...positive or negative...or maybe another coil to suggest? (I've had no experience with after market coils for the GPX beyond the Coiltek Platypus).

Thanks,

Jason Gorpstew.com

Hi Jason...I've used the UFO on three different detectors and found gold with all three...I have two UFO's...

but to get the best performance out of one you have to go extremely slow to hear the deep signals...also

just barely touch the ground...when you move forward only move half the length of the coil...I've used one

in several different conditions and believe me it's best to be working behind a tractor push where you

don't have brush and rocks to mess with...another good thing about them is their water proof...if you

don't have really good clean areas to beep I would suggest the Coiltek 19" round DD (Dingo)...no longer made

but possibly a dealer would have one...the other suggestion would be a Coiltek 19" Ele.mono or their 17"

Ele. mono UFO...Nugget Finder also has some good coils in the 17" size....I have all and find gold with

all of them...hope this helps...

Hi Jason...I've used the UFO on three different detectors and found gold with all three...I have two UFO's...

but to get the best performance out of one you have to go extremely slow to hear the deep signals...also

just barely touch the ground...when you move forward only move half the length of the coil...I've used one