Nugget Shooter Forums

Meteorite I.D. Please

Hi, newbie here. Came across this friendly looking forum and thought y'all might be some help. :)

(I did not wish to bother any of those rude arrogant meteorite id professinals all over the web)

K, I found this by a river in Indiana, it's heavy but not a whole lot heavier than it looks.

It is magnetic and it seems to streak black, (I'm no pro on streaks so don't hold me to that.)

Any Ideas would be greatly appriciated, Thanks

post-22602-125634108945_thumb.jpgpost-22602-125634121878_thumb.jpgpost-22602-125634139166_thumb.jpg

Hi, newbie here. Came across this friendly looking forum and thought y'all might be some help. :)

(I did not wish to bother any of those rude arrogant meteorite id professinals all over the web)

K, I found this by a river in Indiana, it's heavy but not a whole lot heavier than it looks.

It is magnetic and it seems to streak black, (I'm no pro on streaks so don't hold me to that.)

post-22602-125634108945_thumb.jpgpost-22602-125634121878_thumb.jpgpost-22602-125634139166_thumb.jpg

hi there, it looks very very old stone more like volcano stone to me exposed to heat and long periods of climat changing that has pickup iron after all, have a look inside of it by slicing a piece and more clues can be seen just suggestion let see what orthers can tell too.

Hi Jojo,

The stone looks terrestrial to me, and like Fred says, metamorphic. I can see what looks like visable quartz/silica in the matrix. Also, the exterior surface does not have any features that are meteoritic. Better luck with the next one.

Ben

Hi JoJo,