Nugget Shooter Forums

advise on starting out with metal detector

old digger

:confused0013: I,am mainly a gold miner using a sluice box and pan. going to get into using a metal detector to add to the fun. sooo what brand or type would you old experts suggest, as long as its not over $1000.00. will be using it primarely for gold ,in and out of the water, nothing over one foot deep. I have never used one, but I have a friend who uses it and he gets alot more yellow bits that me. any and all help will be great THANKS!

I could recommend whites electronics to you. Manufactured right in Sweethome Oregon. I've been using a whites GM3 for 10 years now. It has variable frequency so interference with other detectors is less of a problem. there are some newer models, too, the GM4-B ,GMT, MXT etc. The GM is Gold Master series. By the way my deepest nugget was 2.1 gram at 12 inches down with the original monocoil. Good luck to you.

Mike G. :icon_mrgreen:

:icon_mrgreen: Run, don't walk, to your local club-be it gem & mineral, gold, or detectors and smooze with the local yokels. You are attempting to learn detecting upside down-nugget shooting is the hardest form their is. Locals have claims, expertise, outings, classes and GREAT RETIRED FOLKS who love to spread the fever. There are sooooooooo many great nugget machines out there now(used but not abused too) that will fill your needs nicely. You'll have to practice,practice and then some more and most folks bow out long before as it is indeed work!! tons a au 2 u 2 -John :icon_mrgreen: