Nugget Shooter Forums

one reason to carry in Alaska

Guest goldstudmuffin

This guy lives just outside of Soldotna.

Friends,

Have I got a story for you guys!

King season is over, and since I had a day off before silvers start, I

Thought I would go for a walk! This occurred at 11:16 am this morning

(Sunday), just 2/10 of a mile from my house, ON OUR ROAD while walking

My dogs (trying to get in shape for hunting season, ironically!) for the

Record, this is in a residential area-not back in the woods, no

Bow hunting, no stealth occurring...

I heard a twig snap, and looked back...full on charge-a huge brownie,

Ears back, head low and motorin' full speed! Came with zero warning; no

Woof, no popping of the teeth, no standing up, nothing like what you

Think or see on TV! It charged from less than 20 yards and was on me in

About one-second! Totally surreal-I just started shooting in the general

Direction, and praise God that my second shot (or was it my third?)

Rolled him at 5 feet and he skidded to a stop 10 feet BEYOND where I was

Shooting from-I actually sidestepped him and fell over backwards on the

Last shot, and his momentum carried him to a stop past where I fired my

First shot!

It was a prehistoric old boar-no teeth, no fat-weighed between 900-1000

Lbs and took five men to DRAG it onto a tilt-bed trailer! Big bear-its

Paw measured out at about a 9 1/2 footer!

Never-ever-thought "it" would happen to me! It’s always some other smuck, Right?

Well, no bull- I am still high on adrenaline, with my gut in a Knot.

Feels like I did 10000 crunches without stopping! Almost puked for

An hour after, had the burps and couldn't even stand up as the troopers

Conducted their investigation! Totally wiped me out-cant even put that

Feeling into words, by far the most emotion I have ever felt at once!

No doubt that God was with me, as I brought my Ruger .454 Casull (and

Some "hot" 350 grain solids) just for the heck of it, and managed to