Nugget Shooter Forums

Looking for meteorites from above

hi

i am new in the m-hunting, so please be patient for my unawareness :)

is there any trace that meteorites leave on the ground when falling you could see from height of 50 m and more? i am not talking about Tunguska meteorite, but smth like 1kg - any kind of crater or stuff.

the idea is to track the sign of fallen meteorite while flying the motorized paraglider or stmh of the kind

thanks for ideas and advises

turbulent

Hi Turbulent,

Welcome to the forum. I'm a newbie here too. Lots of friendly people here will try to help with your questions. I'm new to meteorite hunting, but I've been an amateur astronomer for quite a while. I'll try to answer your question and others here more experienced in hunting can chime in and tell you if I'm full of BS or not... :innocent0009:

The short answer is...I don't think you'll find many recognizable impact features from an ultralight or similar craft...if any at all.

Some of the reasons...

If you'll look at some of the posts here, you'll see that the majority of finds are meteorites marble sized up to golf ball sized or so. Meteorites in the 1Kg range are pretty rare.

Most meteorites don't impact with enough velocity to create a crater. Most meteors break up into smaller pieces high in the atmosphere. By the time they reach the surface, atmospheric drag has slowed them down to terminal velocity, so they impact like they were just dropped from a high altitude.

Any impact feature from something that small will weather to virtual invisibility VERY quickly...sometimes just days or weeks.