Nugget Shooter Forums

New guy interested in TX & NM

Hi all,

Thought I'd introduce myself. I'm Tom from Central Texas, but I spent the first

40 odd years of my life in Southern New Mexico. I'm an amateur astronomer off &

on for 20+ years, and now I'm interested in space things I can actually touch.

I'm also a ham radio operator and a general electronics geek.

I'm pretty familiar with the basics of meteorites and am studying the stuff I'm

not familiar with, like metal detector technology.

I do have a couple of basic questions...particularly for those of you familar

with meteorite hunting in New Mexico.

No...I don't want directions to Glorietta...LOL.

Regarding metal detectors...I'm looking at detectors in the $500-$800 range,

like the Whites GMT, Fisher Gold Bug II...and similar. Do you have any guidence

for models that can handle the various mineralized soils common in the desert of

New Mexico?

My second question regards legalities of meteorite hunting in New Mexico.

Through family and accquaintences, I have access to a fair amount of private

property, and with permission, I assume, hunting and digging for meteorites is

no problem. I'm wondering about any legal issues with hunting and possibly

digging on BLM or National Forest land. Are any permits or special requirements

in place for meteorite hunting on these public lands? Particularly if I need to

dig? I know hunting and digging antiquities is highly restricted...I just can't

find much that mentions meteorite hunting.

Thanks for your patience. Looking forward to learning more about this hobby.

Later...

--

Tom

Tom,

Hello and welcome!

No directions to Glorieta! That's a first! Just kidding.