Nugget Shooter Forums

First Gold Rush Site Disputed!

Thanks Terry, that was interesting. Its amazing how the economy has highlighted a lot of issues in the mining and prospecting industry lately.

Those folks in Georgia totally forget that the first gold rush in the USA was in North Carolina.

"Beginning with the first deposit of native mined gold from North Carolina at the Philadelphia Mint on May 25, 1804, newspapers throughout the country and Europe began reporting on the great gold finds in North Carolina. Each new mine opening, each new find of a large nugget created new stories in the press which attracted speculators, entrepreneurs, mine operators, and miners to North Carolina like iron to a magnet." More Info:

Quite often History is not or may not be what actually happened, but what was recorded at the time. Britannica has this link.

http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/237388/gold-rush

I studied FrogMick's link. so it may be a matter of semantics as by NC's own admission they talk about the definition of the term "Gold Rush". I think all of the places mentioned in this thread are of historic value though. :twocents:

Quite often History is not or may not be what actually happened, but what was recorded at the time. Britannica has this link.

http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/237388/gold-rush

I studied FrogMick's link. so it may be a matter of semantics as by NC's own admission they talk about the definition of the term "Gold Rush". I think all of the places mentioned in this thread are of historic value though. :twocents:

Read down the Britannica page offered and you will find the following: