Nugget Shooter Forums

Ready for that NorCal gold!!

Hey guys! :coffeetime:

My name is Basel, and I recently joined this forum a few days ago. Im a graphic designer and am usually stuck behind a computer all day, but I spend countless hours daydreaming about being far away from technology. After years of reading articles and websites, ive finally decided to just get out there. I have decided to drag my girlfriend to come out with me even though she is convinced that i've gone mad.

I have purchased some gold pans, a Keene sluice box, and have been looking into some metal detectors.

I think I would be happy buying the Tesoro uMax Silver as a starter detector. I realize that it doesnt have a majority of the advanced features on the newer more professional models, but would like to know if it would be able to locate some small nuggets. Is ground mineralization going to keep me from enjoying this detector?

The only other question I have, is the one which I have the hardest time getting answered. WHERE!?

I am in northern california, (san jose/berkeley) and would LOVE someone to just guide me into the right direction. For panning and sluicing, I plan on taking a trip towards the Yuba River within the next week or two, which is obviously known for having some gold, but for metal detecting.. I admit that im kinda lost. Any information or advice would be a huge help!

I really look forward to getting to know you guys, and sharing some of my experiences! im an avid photographer as well, so expect some pictures!

I also would love to have someone point out to me where I can go with my detector and start digging up nuggets. Gold is valuable stuff and most guys on this forum would like to know where some good gold is that they can go and dig up.

I can offer some suggestions as far as locations you might try, but let me ask are you going to camp, stay in a motel, etc. or what???