Nugget Shooter Forums

New to the forum

Hello to all,

I am new to the post, but have been reading for a couple months and finially decided to join. I appreciate all the knowledge that you all have been putting into the forum and hopefully it will help me find that FIRST GOLD. I bought a garett scorpion about 2 months ago and haven't found anything except for brass casings, bullets, pop tops............ I have heard alot of negative reviews about the garett detectors, are they not good for finding gold or does anyone who owns one, or previously owned one have any words of wisdom? Also, can anyone tell me where would be the best place to find out if there are open claims out there or if there is a map of where I can go and start prospecting without being on someone elses claim. I live down in Green Valley, AZ and also spend aloyourt of time around Bumble Bee, and Cleator,AZ. Thanks in advance for your help and suggestions

Boondockstwo

Hi Boondockstwo, I made the mistake and purchased a Garrett metal detector when I was first starting out. The best advice I can give you on it... get rid of it and get a better detector because they have a lot of trouble handling mineralized ground.

Technology is constantly changing, all the other metal detector companies realise this and tend to keep up with it. For some reason Garrett doesn't because their gold VLF metal detectors fell behind the game many years ago. It seems to me they try to focus on the relic/coin metal detectors and not the gold prospecting detectors.

Del

Boondockstwo,

Allow me to answer your questions in reverse order. The very best thing you can do as a new person to the hobby is join a prospecting club in your area. That way you get first hand help from members and a valid place to hunt.