Nugget Shooter Forums

Newbie Question

bado1

Hi all!

This is a great site! Alot of experience and knowledge here. I've been doing some research and lurking around on various sites for a while now trying to figure out which machine to buy as my first machine. First of all I live in Phoenix and would do most of my hunting here in AZ. I'm not new to prospecting just to detecting. I figured that since I'm new to all of this that it would'nt matter which type of unit I started with as I have no preconceived notions as to how a unit should act or sound. I want to buy used just in case this aint for me. I understand that a guy should own both types of to cover all situations and maybe someday that will be the case with me but, for now, which unit would be best to begin with? I was thinking a Whites GMT for the VLF or a SD2100v2 for the PI unit. Any opinions would be greatly appreciated!

Dean

Dean – I own a GMT and highly suggest it if you don’t want to spend the extra money. If you stick with medal detecting you can always keep the GMT as a backup detector. However if you have the extra money then the PI is going to go deeper and hopefully get you more gold.

Hi Dean

I to have a GMT and it is a great detector for the money, It can sniff out the small stuff like a champ. Not a very big learning curve.

I also recommend it.

Regards

Herb

Haderly and Herb,

Thank you for the input. Getting the GMT first then using it as a back up later is a great idea. I've read nothing but good about the GMT.

Thanks!

Are there any reputable local dealers that sell used or refurbished machines?

Silver Dog Doug just bought a refurbished GMT from some dealer. You might want to send him a PM if he doesn't see this thread.

I found my GMT on this forum and occasionally see them on other forums. If you can wait a bit you may find a good deal. I bought mine for $500 and it came with 3 coils and shafts.